Unlock Dancing Plaza

Unlock Dancing Plaza is a promising contemporary dance company founded in 2002, with Ong Yong Lock as Artistic Director and Joseph Lee as Associate Artistic Director (Joined in 2020). Unlock is committed to pursuing innovative breakthrough and theatrical liberation. These commitments are embodied in and practised through its productions. The company focuses in reflecting dance on the basis of individual. Through defining dance in the uniqueness of a body and being free from the institutionalised aesthetics of dance, Unlock deeply believes, “Everyone can dance”.

Curating cross-media, cross-regional, and experimental projects, Unlock Body Lab is developed to discover and show the possibilities of dance in various forms. #DANCELESS includes a series of creative works, performances and workshops that are based on public participatory as the main way of artistic practise. It promotes and deepens the diversify imagination of dance; facilitate the mutual exchange between artists and the public through experiencing dance together.

Unlock is a three-time Hong Kong Dance Awards recipient and highly recognised by the dance industry. Its representative works include Jump to Mars, Dance with me, Boy Story. Reborn, Wanderer, serial dance-theatre Walls 44, Chopin VS Ca, and etc. The company is financially supported by the Hong Kong Arts Development Council since 2009.

Vision

Not only does the initial of UDP stand for "Unlock Dancing Plaza", but it also means "Unlimited Dance Performance". The company tries to be free, without presets when we are creating. Not being bounded to any form, shape, concept, imagery, preset, our attitude towards creation is free. Complying with concrete state of life, it shows a performing way based on intuition.



Mission

  • Curate disruptive and high-quality art works to bring a refreshing strike on the audience and the dance scene;
  • In the #danceless public participatory project, develop Bodynamics, Body in Time and different participatory creation and performances for students, elderlies and general public to aware their body and experience art;
  • Carry out body research through the Unlock Body Lab platform to provide opportunities for local artists in nurturing their creative inspiration and promote cultural exchanges.

不加鎖舞踊館

不加鎖舞踊館成立於2002年,藝術總監為王榮祿,副藝術總監為李偉能(2020年加入)。舞團致力追求破格創新、解放舞台束縛,並嘗試體現和實踐於製作中。近年專注重新思考以個人為本位的舞蹈。從身體獨特性去定義舞蹈,解放體制化的舞蹈美學;尊重個體自由和選擇,提出每個人都可以跳舞的想法。

舞團以不同形式探索和呈現舞蹈的可能性,發展出Unlock Body Lab:策劃跨媒界、跨地域、突破規限而具實驗性的探索。另外「#非關舞蹈」一系列的創作、演出及工作坊,本著以公眾參與作為主要藝術實踐手段,發展、推廣及深化舞蹈多元的想像;促成藝術家與公眾雙向交流,共同體驗舞蹈。

舞團曾三度獲香港舞蹈年獎,深得業界認可。代表劇場作品包括《跳著舞去火星》、《男生·男再生》、《游弋蒼穹》、連續舞蹈劇場《牆四十四》、《蕭邦 vs CA幫》等。舞團自2009年起成為香港藝術發展局資助團體。

願景

UDP是 Unlock Dancing Plaza的簡稱,同時也可解讀為 Unlimited Dance Performance(無限制舞蹈演出)。舞團抱持自由開放的創作態度、不限制涉獵範圍、不規範於形式、槪念、形態或意象;創作靈感源於直覺,演繹不同生命和這個世界交融的景觀。



使命

  • 策展破格、高質素的藝術作品,為觀眾和業界帶來耳目一新的衝擊;
  • 透過「#非關舞蹈」公眾參與計劃發展「身體年輪」、「身體運動」以及參與式創作及演出,與長者、學生及大眾共同覺察身體和經歷藝術;
  • 透過Unlock Body Lab平台開展身體研習,為本地藝術家提供醞釀靈感和創意的機會,促進文化交流。